The Megalithic Portal
 
Latest EntriesFind a SiteJoin InNews & LinksForumShopAbout Us  Login / New account
Main Menu
News  ·   Forum
Browse by Country/Type
About us/Help/FAQ
Your Own Page
Your Visit Log
email Newsletter
Join our Society
Contact Editor
Site Search
spionage kamera Appunti, Riassunti @ TruCheck Referaty @ Referat.Mirslovarei.com

Random Image

Backa Brastad Hällristningar

Featured Title:
Stones Playing Cards, great gift idea
Stones Playing Cards, great gift idea

London's Ley Lines, Pathways of enlightenment
London's Ley Lines, Pathways of enlightenment

Login
User ID

Password

Don't have an account yet? You can create one. As a registered user you have some advantages like your own home page, fewer ads, and your contributions link to your page.

Who's Online
There are currently, 82 guests and 0 members online.

You are a guest. To join in, please register for free by clicking here

Sponsored Links

More Choices
Contribute to our running costs
Webrings
Open Directory: Megaliths
Megalithic Mysteries
Our Online Shop


Moderated by : Andy B , TimPrevett , coldrum , Klingon , MickM , TheCaptain , bat400 , davidmorgan , Runemage , SolarMegalith , sem

The Megalithic Portal and Megalith Map : Index >> Stones Forum >> ATTACK ON "STONE PAGES" SITE
New   Reply
Author ATTACK ON "STONE PAGES" SITE
BERNARDQUATERMASS



Joined:
19-03-2006


Messages: 653
from Oldham, Lancashire

OFF-Line

 Posted 31-08-2006 at 23:49   
LIKE MANY MEG.PORTAL MEMBERS I VISIT OTHER SITES TOO. STONE PAGES HAS BEEN ATTACKED . DO NOT OPEN ANY EMAILS FROM THEM TILL YOU HAVE CHECKED DIEGOS SITE




 Profile   Reply
JimChampion



Joined:
30-12-2004


Messages: 398
from Southampton

OFF-Line

 Posted 01-09-2006 at 00:00   
Can you clarify what you mean by "attacked"?




 Profile  Email   Reply
BERNARDQUATERMASS



Joined:
19-03-2006


Messages: 653
from Oldham, Lancashire

OFF-Line

 Posted 01-09-2006 at 00:07   
a trojan downloader in an email, has been sent to members


[ This message was edited by: BERNARDQUATERMASS on 2006-09-01 00:08 ]




 Profile   Reply
mishkin



Joined:
11-09-2005


Messages: 213
from Chelmsford

OFF-Line

 Posted 01-09-2006 at 03:06   
Well I've had one, its asking you to become a moderator -ALL you have to do is download a file - so don't. My computer recognised the virus.




 Profile   Reply
cropredy



Joined:
01-01-2006


Messages: 5547
from Oxon

OFF-Line

 Posted 01-09-2006 at 07:54   
I have recieved the same email,
my anti virus blocked me going onto the site yesterday, and I asked if anyone could contact diego to inform him?
I dont know his email address or anything so I cant contact him, and the anti virus wont let me onto the site.
Fingers crossed that they can get rid of it.
Kevin





 Profile   Reply
Stone_Pages



Joined:
01-09-2006


Messages: 1
from Italy

OFF-Line

 Posted 01-09-2006 at 08:13   
Yes - unfortunately we must confirm that yesterday night a nasty hacker somehow crept into our forum software and sent a fake message saying "Congratulations! You are new moderator of our forum. If you agree, download key file." to a number of our registered users.

In case you have received such a message, please DO NOT click the link provided in the fake message, because it would start the dowload of a trojan virus that may cause damage to the files on your computer.

We are taking serious actions to avoid that such a nasty thing will happen again in the future. In the meantime, please disregard any e-mail message from the forum without our names on it - and IN ANY CASE do not click any link on the message.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and bear with us with this difficult situation.

Best regards,

Paola Arosio & Diego Meozzi
http://www.stonepages.com

PS
In case of need, my e-mail address is:
diego at stonepages.com




 Profile   Reply
KenWilliams



Joined:
12-04-2005


Messages: 188
from Dublin

OFF-Line

 Posted 01-09-2006 at 08:40   
When I tried to go to the forum yesterday it attempted to start a download, clicking on any links of the forum caused the russian website address to appear in the status bar as well. I think there's more to the attack than just emails being sent out.

Ken




 Profile   Reply
Stone_Pages



Joined:
01-09-2006


Messages: 1
from Italy

OFF-Line

 Posted 01-09-2006 at 10:48   
Quote:

On 2006-09-01 08:40, KenWilliams wrote:
When I tried to go to the forum yesterday it attempted to start a download, clicking on any links of the forum caused the russian website address to appear in the status bar as well. I think there's more to the attack than just emails being sent out.


Can you please check again if this is happening also today? We have made several test with multiple computers and the forums now seem fine. We checked our forum magamenet software thoroughly, and we believe that kind of behaviour is likely to be triggered by a computer that's already been attacked by the trojan virus. Have you ever clicked the malignant link on the fake message that was sent out? Have you checked if your computer has already been "infected"?

Again, sorry for any inconvenience




 Profile   Reply
New   Reply
Jump To
 
Sponsored Links

IMPORTANT NOTES: This site uses COOKIES. Please do not use this web site if you do not agree to our Terms and Conditions of use.
If you plan to visit ancient sites in person, please make sure you follow our Charter.

What's New Browse by Country Add a new Site Join our Society New in the Shop About Us
Feature Articles Browse by Site Type Your own page email Newsletter Follow us on Twitter Terms and Conditions
Book Reviews Accessible Sites Your visit log Google Earth Be a Facebook friend Contact Editor
Latest Photos Top Rated Sites Submit News / Article Google Street View Downloads and ebooks Site Privacy Policy
Main News Forum Latest New Images Find nearby sites Search Page Main News

Articles, photographs and comments are the property of their respective authors or contributors, please contact them for permission to reproduce. Site design ©1997-2012 Andy Burnham.